Bushpigs Awards for 2014.


The Jindabyne Rugby Union Club celebrated yet another successful season in style at the Lake Jindabyne Hotel on Friday 12th September. The Lake Jindabyne Hotel Bushpigs had a rollercoaster of a year, coming 3rd in the division 2 competition for ACT Monaro, and the Wild Brumby Distillery Miss Piggies also showed that they are improving each and every year, coming 3rd in the Senior Womens division also.

Jindabyne produced an abundance of home grown talent with Tayla Stanford winning a gold medal at the Youth Olympics in China last month with the Australian Rugby 7’s Team, along with David Akersdyk being awarded Monaro Player of the Year, and Matt Caldwell, Steven Rompannan, Josh Shortland, Ian Vagg, Jeremey Witherdren, and Liam Pepper all being selected to play in the Monaro Rugby Representative side.

The awards for the 2014 season went to Ian Vagg and Kerryn Burgess for Best Forwards, Bushpigs Captain Jake Roarty and Jessie Cullen for Best Backs, Rookie of the Year went to young guns Kurtis Atkinson and Julia Weber, and Most Improved Players were Tom Ashton and Kate Waterhouse. The Coaches Awards for 2014 went to Issac Mew and Miss Piggies Captain Peta Cox. The Players Player award, for the player voted best by their peers in their team, was awarded to Matty Caldwell and Kate Brown, followed by the prestigous award of Best & Fairest being awarded to Liam Pepper and Kerryn Burgess.

The award for Club Person of the Year 2014 was awarded for the second year in a row to Nicole Raine.

A big thank you goes out to Club Presidents for 2014 Brett Atkinson and Mick Swinney for their guidence and leadership that keeps the club moving forward and growing bigger and better every year, to Ian Hyde for his continued efforts with looking after the treasurey of the club and being the Pig Pens local barman, all the committee members that who without their help we would not be where we are today, and all of our sponsors who believe in country rugby and continue to support us every year.

Congrats JRUC on the successes of 2014, and bring on 2015.