Dates for the postponed 2020 South Coast Monaro 2nd Division season have now been confirmed.

ACT Rugby Union held a Zoom meeting with clubs on Wednesday 24 June to seek consensus on the competition dates and structure, following the announcement that rugby union competitions are able to resume after 1 July.

The following items were decided:

  • Round One will be Saturday 18 July
  • 10 rounds will be played, meaning everyone will play each other once, but only a few teams will play each other twice
  • There will be two weeks of finals. Semi finals are Saturday 26 September, comprising a 1v4 playoff and 2v3 playoff, with winners proceeding to the Grand Final
  • Grand Final will be on Saturday 3 October
  • Matches will be played with 35 minute halves for the duration of the season, reduced from 40 minutes

At this stage, it looks like we’ll have a seven team competition, following the announcement by 2019 premiers Crookwell in May that they will not participate in 2020.

  • Batemans Bay
  • Braidwood
  • Broulee
  • Bungendore
  • Jindabyne
  • Yass
  • Taralga

We expect to have a draw announced early in the week commencing 29 June.

ACT Junior Rugby Union is expected to announce dates and details for the junior rugby union season shortly.

Keep an eye on our website and Facebook page for the latest info.